clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minor League Baseball 2017 Rawlings Gold Glove winners announced

New, 3 comments

Minor League Baseball passes out awards for defensive prowess

MLB: Spring Training-Minnesota Twins at Philadelphia Phillies
Scott Kingery
Butch Dill-USA TODAY Sports

This afternoon, Minor League Baseball and the Rawlings Sporting Goods Company announced the annual winners of the Minor League Gold Glove competition.

"This group has emerged as the finest in the field at the Minor League level, and I am pleased to honor these nine recipients with a Rawlings Gold Glove Award®," said Minor League Baseball President and CEO Pat O'Conner. "On behalf of Minor League Baseball, I congratulate each of them on their outstanding seasons."

The complete press release can be found here.

The winners:

Catcher: Jose Trevino, Frisco Roughriders (Texas Rangers)
First Base: Edwin Espinal, Altoona Curve and Indianapolis Indians (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Second Base: Scott Kingery, Reading Fighting Phils and Lehigh Valley Iron Pigs (Philadelphia Phillies)
Third Base: Ke’Bryan Hayes, Bradenton Marauders (Pittsburgh Pirates)
Shortstop: Daniel Castro, Albuquerque Isotopes (Colorado Rockies)
Left Field: Tyler Ramirez, Stockton Ports and Midland Rockhounds (Oakland Athletics)
Center Field: Jacob Hannemann, Tennessee Smokies and Iowa Cubs (Chicago Cubs and Seattle Mariners)
Right Field: Max Murphy, Fort Myers Miracle and Chattanooga Lookouts (Minnesota Twins)
Pitcher: Jordan Kipper, Mobile BayBears, Bowie Baysox, Norfolk Tides (Los Angeles Angels and Baltimore Orioles)