clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Triple-A All-Star HR contest participants named

New, 2 comments

List includes Mike Hessman, who recently clubbed his 400th career minor league home run.

Toledo slugger Mike Hessman
Toledo slugger Mike Hessman
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Triple-A Baseball announced on Tuesday that the following six players would participate in the 2014 Triple-A All-Star Home Run Derby on Monday, July 14 at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in Durham, North Carolina: Jesus Aguilar (Columbus), Mike Hessman (Toledo) and Dan Johnson (Buffalo) of the International League and Allan Dykstra (Las Vegas), Mike Jacobs (Reno) and Francisco Pena (Omaha) of the Pacific Coast League.

The contest includes three seasoned home-run hitters in Hessman, 36, (418 career home runs), who has hit 15 home runs this season; Johnson, 34, who won the 2010 contest as a member of the Durham Bulls (294 career home runs), has hit 17 home runs this season; and Jacobs (263 home runs), 33, who has 12 home runs.

The remaining three contestants have less than one-hundred home runs apiece. Aguilar, 24, has 12 home runs this season; Dykstra, 27, has 12; and Pena, 24, has 15 (already a career high).