clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SPORTS BLOGS: AL Rookie of the Year

New, 17 comments

The Sportsblog Award for AL Rookie of the Year goes to Dustin Pedroia of the Boston Red Sox, with 87 points. Second place goes to Jeremy Guthrie of the Orioles with 25 points, and third to Brian Bannister of the Royals with 20. Fourth place went to Dice-K with 14. Others receiving votes were Reggie Willits, Delmon Young, Hideki Okajima, Rafael Perez, Travis Buck, and Jesse Litsch.

My ballot went Pedroia, Dice-K, and Bannister in that order. I think a lot of people are too negative about Dice-K's season. He had a good year, not as good as a lot of people expected, but he was above-average in a tough division.