clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

After considering comments and thinking about it more, here is my current pitcher board.

  1. David Price, LHP, Vanderbilt.
  2. Rick Porcello, RHP, Seton Hall Prep HS, West Orange, NJ
  3. Jarrod Parker, RHP, Norwell HS, Norwell, Indiana
  4. Ross Detwiler, LHP, Missouri State University
  5. Madison Bumgarner, LHP, South Caldwell HS, Hudson, NC
  6. Josh Smoker, LHP, Calhoun HS, Calhoun, GA
  7. Nevin Griffith, RHP, Middleton HS, Tampa, FL
  8. Matt Harvey, RHP, Fitch HS, Groton, CT
  9. Dan Moskos, LHP, Clemson
  10. Blake Beavan, RHP, Irving HS, Irving, TX
  11. Phillippe Aumont, RHP, Ecole du Versant, Gatineau, Quebec
  12. Casey Weathers, RHP, Vanderbilt
I realize that most people are not going to agree with Griffith over Harvey, and that's fine. Call it intuition, or stupidity, but for some reason I'm in love with Griffith. Sometimes those calls work out, sometimes they don't. We will see.

The hitter board:

  1. Matt Wieters, C, Georgia Tech
  2. Jason Heyward, OF, Henry County HS, McDonough, GA
  3. Mike Moustakas, 3B, Chatsworth HS, CA
  4. Josh Vitters, 3B, Cypress HS, CA
  5. Beau Mills, 3B, Lewis Clark State College
  6. Matt Dominguez, 3B, Chatsworth HS, CA
  7. Kevin Ahrens, 3B, Memorial HS, Houston, TX
  8. Matt LaPorta, 1B, University of Florida
  9. Devin Mesaraco, C, Punxsutawney HS, PY
  10. Corey Brown, OF, Oklahoma State
  11. Will Middlebrooks, 3B, Liberty-Elyau HS, Texarkana, TX
  12. Julio Borbon, OF, University of Tennessee
I've thought about LaPorta for the last couple of hours, and I think the commentators are right to move him ahead of Brown, although I still like Brown more than Borbon. LaPorta is very close to the majors and his combination of power and contact really stands out. I then had to decide how to slot LaPorta in with Ahrens and Mesaraco, and I ended up just splitting the difference.