Brandon Webb wins NL Cy Young

Webb Captures NL Cy Young

POSTED: 2:05 pm EST November 14, 2006

New York, NY -- (Sports Network) - Arizona Diamondbacks right-hander Brandon Webb has been named the National League Cy Young Award winner by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Webb placed first on 15 of 32 ballots cast by two writers from each NL city and second on seven others. He also received seven third-place vote for a total of 103 points.

San Diego closer Trevor Hoffman finished second with 77 points. Major League Baseball's all-time saves leader placed first on 12 ballots, second on three and third on eight. Last year's winner, St. Louis right-hander Chris Carpenter finished third with 63 points.

Houston's Roy Oswalt (15-8, 2.98 ERA) received the other three first place votes, but finished fourth overall.

Details to follow.

Good choice.