Rookie Class of 2010- Best Prospect for Future Performance #20

Spirited voting last round, with 12 different players getting at least one vote.  The only one who didn't get any votes was Brett Wallace, who has obviously fallen like a rock from his B+ rating in John's book last year. A clear plurality went to Ike Davis, to earn him honors as #19 rookie from last year's class.  Here is the breakdown of the voting:

Ike Davis 32%, Reid Brignac 15%, Tyler Colvin 15%, Johnathon Niese 9%, Carlos Carassco 6%, Mike Leake 6%, Neil Walker 4%, Jose Tabata 4%, Michael Saunders 4%, Travis Wood 2%, John Jaso, 2%, Gaby Sanchez 3%, Brett Wallace 0%

And, here are the standings so far:

1. Jason Heyward, outfielder Atlanta Braves

2. Buster Posey, catcher San Francisco Giants

3. Stephen Strasburg, pitcher Washington Nationals

4. Carlos Santana, catcher Cleveland Indians

5. Michael Stanton, outfielder Florida Marlins

6. Madison Bumgarner, pitcher San Francisco Giants

7. Starlin Castro, shortstop Chicago Cubs

8. Brian Matusz, Pitcher Baltimore Orioles

9. Pedro Alvarez, third base, Pittsburgh Pirates

10. Neftali Feliz, pitcher, Texas Rangers

11. Logan Morrison, outfielder Florida Marlins

12. Jhoulys Chacin, pitcher Colorado Rockies 

13. Daniel Hudson, pitcher Arizona Diamondbacks

14. Justin Smoak, first base, Seattle Mariners

15. Jaime Garcia, pitcher St Louis Cardinals

16t. Austin Jackson, outfielder Detroit Tigers

16t. Ryan Kalish, outfielder, Boston Red Sox

16t. Wade Davis, pitcher Tampa Bay Rays

19. Ike Davis, first base, New York Mets

Based on last round's voting I am going to drop Brett Wallace who got no votes and Travis Wood who got one.  I'm also not adding Gaby Sanchez even though he was nominated as a write in and got one vote. I am going to bring back John Axford, and, for the first time I am going to add Jonny Venters and Josh Thole.  I am also keeping on the ballot Mike Leake and Tyler Colvin who were nominated as write ins last round based on their significant vote totals.

Temporarily dropped players:  Peter Bourjos 0% (14), Jake Arrieta 0% (14), Mitch Moreland 0% (15), Michael Brantley 0%  (16), Danny Valencia 0% (16), Brennan Boesch 0% (16),  Gaby Sanchez 2% (19), Travis Wood 2% (19), John Jaso 2% (19), Brett Wallace 0% (19)  

.Players who I am planning on adding in the near future are Drew Storen, Andrew CashnerAlcides Escobar and Alexi Ogando

Other players who I am considering, althought I may not get to them without some positive discussion, are Ian Desmond, Chris Johnson, Kila Ka'aihue, Brooks Conrad, Alex Sanabia, Wilton Lopez and Sergio Santos.  If you want any of these guys added, or if you want anyone else added who isn't mentioned above, please discuss below.

As a reminder voting is by +1.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Minor League Ball

You must be a member of Minor League Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Minor League Ball. You should read them.

Join Minor League Ball

You must be a member of Minor League Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Minor League Ball. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.